Our History

/Our History
Our History2018-09-03T00:37:07+00:00

Peoples Party is a registered political party in Papua New Guinea, registered with the Registry of Pollical Parties and Candidates Commission of Papua New Guinea.

Peoples Party eleven years old since formal registration in November 2006. Peoples Party plays a pivotal role in politics, governance and contributed immensely to the development of this country.

Peoples Party contested three National Elections in 2007, 2012 and 2017 endorsed over 100 candidates won twelve (12) electoral seats four (4) in the eight (8th), sixth (6th) in the ninth (9th) and two (2) in the tenth (10) National Parliament.

PP championed the free/subsidized education policy in the country and produced a large numbers of human resources to support the development of Papua New Guinea.

The Party continues to promotes zero tolerance to corruption all sectors of the society especially the government systems to make sure that the basic services reach the majority of the rural population.

Peoples Party provide leaders that have heart for the people especially the 80 percent of the rural Papua New Guinea to see that they share the wealth of this country.

The party was put together by the like-minded Papua New Guineans that provide the political will to serve the majority of the rural people to access basic goods and services.

These leaders most of them senior person (s) in various disciples in the public and private sector after seeing that the corrupt practices in all walks of life was eating into the fabrics of systems in public administration, government and private areas of the society. They form this political group to fight such practices.

Some of the founding executives of Peoples Party are now members of Papua New Guineas National Parliament.

Founders of the party include lawyers, Lehono Henao, Davis Stevens, late Utula Samana, Philimon Embel, geologist Wera Mori, businessmen, Mark Yakka, late Yose Kome, Peter Iggy, journalist, Frank Senge Kolma, TV personality John Iggins and David Ericho.

The first foundation National Executives of Peoples Party were: Wera Mori, National President, Frank Senge Kolma (General Secretary), Mark Yakka (Treasurer), ….(Public Officer) , Davis Stevens (Member).

These leaders invited Governor for Enga Hon. Peter Ipatas, MP, to become the first Parliamentary Leaders of the party.

Sir Peter Ipatas now bestowed with the knighthood of British Empire for his service in politics and civil society by the Queen of England brought with him three members of the 8th Parliament to join the party. Hon. Dickson Maki,Member for Kompiam Ambum, Hon. Kapa Yakka member for

Laiagap- Pogera and Hon. Gordon Wesley, Samarai Muruwa.

PP went into the 2007 National Election for the first time with four (4) sitting members of National Parliament under the Parliamentary leadership of Sir Peter Ipatas, (Enga), Gordon Wesley, (Samarai Muruwa), Kapa Yakka (Laiagap-Pogera) and Dickson Maki, (Kompiam Ambum).

The party endorsed over 60 candidates in the 2007 National Election and won four (4) electoral seats; Ipatas (Enga), Wesley (Samarai Muruwa), Samson Kuli (Usino Bundi), late Sailon Besseco (Kainantu). John Pundari (Kompiam Ambum) and leader for PNG Advance Party joined later with Dr. Moses Munuwa (Wewak) after declared winner in the court of Disputed Returns.

The National Alliance led government saw PPs loyalty to award Minister for Mining in the later part of 2010.

However, an impasse occurred with rebel MPs on the floor of National Parliament in 2011 and that also affected PP Parliamentary Wing, where three (3) of our MPs joined the opposing group while Pundari remained in the Somare-Abel Camp. Sir Ipatas was in the United States when the impasse occurred to oust National Alliance led Government while Sir Micheal was attending medical treatment in Singapore.

Peoples Party went into the 2012 National Elections with three sitting MPs (Ipatas, Pundari, Kuli), while late Besseco Manuwe and Wesley joined THE and PNC respectively to contest the elections. The party endorsed a total of 56 candidates in the 2012 National Elections. It won six (6) seats; Ipatas (Enga) Pundari (Kompiam), new comers Robert Ganim (Wabag), Wesley Nukundz (Dei)Mogerema Sigo Wei (Karamui Nomane) and Davis Steven (Esa’ ala), with nine first runner ups and 13 in the top five in the polls.

PP joined the current PNC led Government and was given two Ministries; Pundari-Environment & Conservation & Climate Change, Steven-Civil Aviation, two vice ministers Sigo Wei-Agriculture, Nukundz-Climate Change and a Parliamentary Referrals Committee Chairman Ganim – Education.

Peoples Party contested the 2017 National Election under the leadership of Dr. William Tongamp, the Governor for Jiwaka, Sir Peter Ipatas in a sudden political move joined the Peoples National Congress Party with another founding member Hon. Davis Steven the member for Esa’ala on the eve of the elections.

The young leader from Jiwaka took the party into the election with 35 endorsed candidates and won two electoral seats include Hon, James Donald, North Fly and himself. To date the party has two members in the 10th National Parliament.